Due to COVID-19, most in-person classes are on hold. However, we are offering a variety of online educational opportunities.
- Considerations to Preserving Food – Facebook Live
- Canning in Colorado 101 – Video
- Water Bath Canning in Colorado – Video
- Freezing Fruits and Vegetables – Video
- Canning Pressure Gauge Testing – in person.
- Bring in your dial gauge pressure canner lids to one of our Tri River Area county offices. Cost is $10 per lid. Gauge accuracy will be tested and recommendations made regarding proper canning times and procedures. It is best practice to test your lid every year. This helps to ensure you are canning at the proper pressure to prevent botulism. Botulism is a rare, but serious disease associated with canned products. Information on botulism.
- Food Safety Works:
- Learn the basics of handling food safely and earn a 3 year certificate. This course is in compliance with Montrose, Delta, Ouray and Mesa County Health Departments. Take it online and on-demand by calling our office. 970-249-3935.
- Cottage Food Producers:
- The Colorado Legislature passed the Cottage Foods Act that set food safety standards for small-scale, cottage food enterprises. To be in compliance with this act, individuals must take a food safety course to learn how to safely produce and handle food within the home and at the point of sale. Receive a 3 year certification today! For a list of online classes, look at Eventbrite and search CSU Extension Colorado Cottage Foods.
- Take the manager level certification in order to be in compliance with the Food Code and your local health department regulations. This is a high level, nationally recognized program that prepares individuals for a career in hospitality or food service. Take the course and have it proctored online with this option at ServSafe.com
Nutrition and Wellness: